The Final Debate – My Work Delayed Take!

Alright I decided to do a little something different with this one. Instead of just writing about this debate I decided to do an audio entry. In addition I highlighted some of the more striking lines from yesterday’s debate and added some photos to top it all off. I’ll give you the audio first. If you don’t feel like reading just listen.

Top 3 Debate Highlights/Lowlights

#3. Joe the Plumber
McCain: I would like to mention that a couple days ago Sen. Obama was out in Ohio and he had anJoe encounter with a guy who’s a plumber, his name is Joe Wurzelbacher…

…And what you want to do to Joe the plumber and millions more like him is have their taxes increased and not be able to realize the American dream of owning their own business.

Schieffer: Is that what you want to do?

McCain: That’s what Joe believes.joe text

Obama: He has been watching ads of Sen. McCain’s…

What I’ve said is I want to provide a tax cut for 95 percent of working Americans, 95 percent. If you make more — if you make less than a quarter million dollars a year, then you will not see six packyour income tax go up, your capital gains tax go up, your payroll tax. Not one dime.

The last point I’ll make about small businesses. Not only do 98 percent of small businesses make less than $250,000, but I also want to give them additional tax breaks, because they are the drivers of the economy. They produce the most jobs.

McCain (on raising taxes): We’re not going to do that in my administration.

Obama: If I can answer the question. Number one, I want to cut taxes for 95 percent of Americans. Now, it is true that my friend and supporter, Warren Buffett, for example, could  afford to pay a little more in taxes in order…

 McCain: We’re talking about Joe the plumber.


#2 Negative Campaigning

McCain: And the fact is, it’s gotten pretty tough. And I regret some of the negative aspects of both campaigns. But the fact is that it has taken many turns which I think are unacceptable.obama_mccain

One of them happened just the other day, when a man I admire and respect — I’ve written about him — Congressman John Lewis, an American hero, made allegations that Sarah Palin and I were somehow associated with the worst chapter in American history, segregation, deaths of children in church bombings, George Wallace. That, to me, was so hurtful.

Obama: And, now, I think the American people are less interested in our hurt feelings during the course of the campaign than addressing the issues that matter to them so deeply.

And there is nothing wrong with us having a vigorous debate like we’re having tonight about health care, about energy policy, about tax policy. That’s the stuff that mc ob2campaigns should be made of.

McCain: Of course, I’ve talked to people like Joe the plumber and tell him that I’m not going to spread his wealth around. I’m going to let him keep his wealth. And of course, we’re talking about positive plan of action to restore this economy and restore jobs in America.

That’s what my campaign is all about and that’s what it’ll continue to be all about.

But again, I did not hear a repudiation of Congressman…

Obama: …when my name came up, things like “terrorist” and “kill him,” and that you’re running mate didn’t mention, didn’t stop, didn’t say “Hold on a second, that’s kind of out of line.”

And I think Congressman Lewis’ point was that we have to be careful about how we deal with our supporters.

Now…mccain2

McCain: You’ve got to read what he said…

(CROSSTALK)

Obama: Let — let — let…

McCain: You’ve got to read what he said.

Obama: Let me — let me complete…

Schieffer: Go ahead.awake

Obama: … my response. I do think that he inappropriately drew a comparison between what was happening there and what had happened during the civil rights movement, and we immediately put out a statement saying that we don’t think that comparison is appropriate.

And, in fact, afterwards, Congressman Lewis put out a similar statement, saying that he had probably gone over the line.

#1 – Abortion Talk (Shockingly Obama took it head on)eyes
McCain: Sen. Obama, as a member of the Illinois State Senate, voted in the Judiciary Committee against a law that would provide immediate medical attention to a child born of a failed abortion. He voted against that.

And then, on the floor of the State Senate, as he did 130 times as a state senator, he voted present.

Then there was another bill before the Senate Judiciary Committee in the state of Illinois not that long ago, where he voted against a ban on partial-birth abortion, one of the late-term abortion, a really — one of the bad procedures, a terrible. And then, on the floor of the Illinois State Senate, he voted present.blinking text

I don’t know how you vote “present” on some of that. I don’t know how you align yourself with the extreme aspect of the pro- abortion movement in America. And that’s his record, and that’s a matter of his record.

And he’ll say it has something to do with Roe v. Wade, about the Illinois State Senate. It was clear-cut votes that Sen. Obama voted, I think, in direct contradiction to the feelings and views of mainstream America.

Schieffer: Response?

Obama: Yes, let me respond to this. If it sounds incredible that I would vote to withhold lifesaving treatment from an infant,  that’s because it’s not true. The — here are the facts.

There was a bill that was put forward before the Illinois Senate that said you have to provide lifesaving treatment and that would have helped to undermine Roe v. Wade. The fact is that there was already a law on the bmccain captionooks in Illinois that required providing lifesaving treatment, which is why not only myself but pro-choice Republicans and Democrats voted against it.

And the Illinois Medical Society, the organization of doctors in Illinois, voted against it. Their Hippocratic Oath would have  required them to provide care, and there was already a law in the books.

With respect to partial-birth abortion, I am completely supportive of a ban on late-term abortions, partial-birth or otherwise, as  long as there’s an exception for the mother’s health and life, and this did not contain that exception.

McCain: Just again, the example of the eloquence of Sen. Obama. He’s health fo r the mother. You know, that’s been stretched by the pro-abortion movement in America to mean almost anything.

That’s the extreme pro-abortion position, quote, “health.”


 

15 comments

  1. Love it! But, I have to say, you sound WWWWAAAAAYYYY more mellow than I expected you to be. Maybe that’s just because I’m so red-hot flaming pissed these days? Let’s just say that if I did an audio entry of my political rant (now posted! Go see!), it would sound more like a shrieking banshee than the Mr. Mellow thing you have going on. Kudos to you for keeping your calm! I, too, thought Obama did especially well with the abortion question; and I must admit that I was relieved to hear that he would support a ban on late-term abortions if there was a caveat for the health of the mother. I think McCain was sarcastic and nasty about the “health of the mother” point, when it was the perfect opportunity for him to have gotten some agreement on a point he says he cares deeply about. I guess he’s an “all or nothing” guy. Can’t comment on the rest as I’m still working through my recording of the debate… sorry, but the BBQ rib dinner I cooked last night took priority over the first half of this thing. I was wondering, as I heard the news afterwards, “Who the hell is this plumber dude and why is he getting so much attention?” Now I’m wondering even more… I mean, do the other 95% of us who don’t own business that make $250,000/year count or not?

  2. I missed the debate last night because of a late meeting for work and I’ve asked a few friends and family members for thier opinions.  None of them could give me anything worth its salt and I am tired of listening to the tv windbags drone on and on so it was nice to hear what you had to say.  I appreciate the recap!  : ]

  3. I am listening to the audio as I type, and I just finished reading your response. You are dead on concerning abortion. Someone should write a blog on the abortion issue: Jonathan Swift-Style! p.s. I like that McCain said Sarah Palin will make a good President because she is a good role model. Can I ask that the next presidential candidate pick Devon Harris as a vice president? I think he is a great role model…and he’s not half bad to look at either!

  4. I have finally stopped yelling at the TV and was just shaking my head. I had to have a conversation with Miss A (7) because of misinformation that the children in her class are spreading around from listening to their parents about this election. 

  5. LOL! Love the comments with the pics. I had to take a sec to wipe my eyes.Listening to the audio now, and I think you’ve turned me into a bobble head I’m nodding so much.I have a brief post of my own going out, nothing as clever as yours but it lets me vent a little on the issues. Which keeps my blood pressure down, which is always good. Keep ’em coming!

  6. This SPREAD THE WEALTH stuff really does bother me about Obama.  And his stance on abortion is WAAAY too radical.  He believes in abortion at any term.  How can someone abort a baby so close to being born.  It is barbaric.  I wish McCain came out punching harder.  

  7. I completely agree with you. You did a great job putting up a serious discussion for this. Palin would make a horrible president. Seriously, if that ever happens.. I am moving out of country. I am.~Marina

  8. It so completely frustrated me that McCain kept using the fictional term “pro-abortion.”  No one’s pro-abortion!  More scare tactics.  You could tell McCain was trying to do some high school girl smirks and winks, but didn’t quite do as well as Palin in that area.  I also like watching the little meter at the bottom of the screen.  Women hate McCain and especially when he talks about Palin! *LOL*

Leave a Reply

