Do You Know What Today Is?

It’s my anniversary! Today makes five years that I have been on xanga. I can hardly believe it’s been that long myself. Some years I have been more involved than others, but I have always found my way back. Xanga has been my sounding board, my shrink’s couch, my advice bank, my practice field, and so many more things. Over the years my blog has evolved, but the overall premise has stayed the same. It has been my place to voice all of the random thoughts going through my head that are begging to be discussed. Sometimes those thoughts will border on the absurd, sometimes they might be considered deep and philosophical (very rarely), and sometimes they may be of a more personal nature (even more rarely). In fact, here is a good snapshot of just how all over the place my blog is;

Top Tags – Weblog
 beerads clayaikengay comedy debate douchiness friedchicken friends god jesus lefttesticle love mesomehennessy newyork olympics rabidchristians racism sarcasm101 standup willferrell’sstomach xanga balki chucknorris gainegaymaine rickroll sarcasm101 ticktockyoudon’tstop yanni

*Yes nothing sums my blog up better than seeing “jesus” and “left testicle” tagged right next to each other.*

If there has been a common thread in my writing throughout the years it’s that I’ve tried to be genuine in everything that I do. I have never changed what I am doing to try to be funnier, or to try and not seem irreverent, or to try to invoke emotion. I just put myself out there and allow you to interpret what you will. I am a comedian by nature, and I enjoy being one, but being a comedian does not define me or my writing. Even though it gives me great pleasure to make you laugh, it is that depth and versatility that I strive towards.

Before I end this special entry, their are three special people that I would like to acknowledge and thank. I am not sure I would give nearly as much of a crap about xanga if it were not for them:

Shirlann – Her and her husband ABD have become two of y very favorite people around here in the past year. She leaves the BEST and most thoughtful comments (sometimes of the essay variety) and she is never gone for too long. I have enjoyed learning about her family and sharing in some of her experiences. She has a wicked sense of humor, which I love about her, and she gives great and uncompromisingly honest advice. I am so glad I am in her circle.

MlleRobillard – My loquacious cousin from Louisianna. We have come to the conclusion that we must be related because there were so many similarities between us. She is one of the most compassionate, kind, and loving souls I’ve ever met, and one of the most genuinely interesting writers around. She is well read and intelligent (those two things are one and the same), goofy and full of wit, and strikingly moving on any given day. It is always my sincerest pleasure to hear from her.

Kalligenia – I feel as if I have known her for a real long time. We have been reading eachother since 2004 and every time I left xanga for a while, she would be here to welcome me back with excited and open arms. There were times over the years that she was my one and only consistent reader and I was more than happy to be blogging for no other reason than to be her “morning laugh.” She read on while I faced the possibility of going to Iraq, and I’ve shared in her journey as an aspiring author. Her continued encouragement is a big reason why I am celebrating five years today and I am very lucky to have her as a friend.

Well that’s it for this one. I’m going to end this now before this entry makes us all diabetic. Here’s to the next five years. (One last thing. I would like to thank Jaynebug for this.)

21 comments

  1. Awww, I think I’m gonna cry!! You’re so dang sweet… well, today, anyway. I’m glad you think so highly of me and ABD; he enjoys reading you so much, he almost re-started his own Xanga again. But, in any case, you get two for the price of one subscription this way! Can I be your white cousin? Because family reunions could be a helluva lot more fun when folks try to figure out whose kid you are…. actually, on both sides of my family, you would not be the only black face, so it wouldn’t be that unusual…. maybe you could be ABD’s cousin! Yeah, that would be a whole lot more fun for a Kentucky boy, don’t you think? Plus, I wanna be related to MlleRobillard too… she can teach me French; and I’d finally have a really super-smart person in the family. Maybe mine & ABD’s next “couple getaway” should be to NYC to catch a comedy show or two… ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. A great big cousinly hug and a sloppy kiss on the cheek (wiping that lipstick off your cheek so Dave’s Lady doesn’t come looking to cut me when you get home)! Happy xangaversary!@Shirlann –  Since I don’t think I can make it to Georgia next month, you and ABD should consider coming this way for Mardi Gras. Laissez les bon temps rouller!

  3. What a sweetheart!  Now I’m all warm, fuzzy, blushy, at a loss for words.  I’ll still be here after another five years, so you better still be posting.  Maybe I’ll be watching you on Comedy Central then or hearing how your hair really turned white after you spent a night in a haunted prison.  Yeah.  I know the best is yet to come, my friend.  *hugs*

  4. I’m such a new kid on the block and you have been so fun to read and laugh and think with.  You know…I think I’ll just UPS the hot tub and the town to you for your anniversary gift.  You’ll have to supply the strippers though cause they won’t get in the truck with that look on the drivers face.  (smiles)

  5. @shuddertothink – No doubt homie.@Krissy_Cole – Thank You.@Shirlann –  You could totally be my white cousin. It would be fun to have you at one of my family functions too. All those Haitians looking at you like “Who the hell is David over there talking to? He says that’s his cousin. Has he been smoking?” I would be so excited to perform for you guys. Anytime you want.@weedorwildflower – Here Here!

  6. Happy Xangaversary!  5 years!  I’ve been here almost three years, and THAT seems like a long time!  Even though I just “met” you, I’m glad to know you’ve been here a long time – it’s nice having stable, established neighbors here!  Kathi

  7. Hey! My husband’s uncle is Haitian! CoooOOOOooolll …We could totally be your cousins! Just say “They’re Bill’s kids from Up North…” Everyone will nod knowingly, I’m sure. (heh)I already said Happy Xangaversary so I’m not going … to say … it aga… D’oh!: >

Leave a Reply

