Black Friday My ASS!!!

So thanksgiving has come and gone. We are now officially into the “holiday season”. Break out the egg nog, the decorations, the unused christmas cards from last year,  the holiday music, and of course the shopping carts. Today is Black Friday. Supposedly the best and biggest shopping day of the year. I have never really paticipated in Black Friday, but today I woke up bright and early to check and see what kind of super deals I could find. I was looking specifically for a great deal on a camcorder. You know what I found? Nothing! Nada! Zilch! I mean there were some decent sales, but nothing great. Nothing worth getting up at 5 AM for. Store after store was disappointing. Best Buy, Circuit City, Target, Wal-Mart, Staples. All of them sucked. Even the open box items were not really marked down. 25% off for an open box item sucks. I’ll see if I have a little better luck at the outlets after work this afternoon.

Thanksgiving itself was nice, albeit long and tiring. I started the day off with a very fun game of football. My team won 6-4 so we got the bragging rights. Hopefully I can make this a new tradition because everyone seems to want to do it again. After the game I ran home and showered up. Dinner was served at my grandmother’s (mom’s side) by 3:30. I had some fried turkey, some delicious yams, and some stuffing, before hitting the road to go to my other grandmother’s house (father’s side). I said a quick hello over there, sampled some wine and their turkey, then headed to the Bronx to see my girlfriend’s family. We got there around 5:30 and stayed till about 9:30. They were very happy that I was able to stay for that long. I was happy I did not have to hear a guilt trip. Tomorrow my Dad will be having his own dinner at his house so that will mark the end of the Thanksgiving festivities for me. I am going to be full till next Tuesday. 

So as I mentioned before I will be a complete sap for the next month. I plan to have a lot going on here for the holidays. Some fun games, trivia, music for you guys every day. I am going to start by doing this list I got from Kellychicky’s page. You don’t have to read it, but if you feel compelled to that’s cool too. See you guys Monday probably.

Sidenote: I didn’t mention this last week, but Thank You Donnie Walsh (GM of the Knicks) for finally giving us Knicks fans something to hope for. Your trades last week were a stroke of genius. Now we get to look forward to a future which could realistically include Lebron James and Chris Bosh. I love you sir.

If you are reading this then you are tagged and should do it for yourself and us to read. Change all the answers so that they apply to you. 

Tis the Season to be NICE!

 

1. Wrapping paper or gift bags? Depends on the gift, but wrapping paper usually.

 

2. Real tree or Artificial? Ain’t nuthin’ like the real thing baby.

 

3. When do you put up the tree? Usually about two weeks before christmas.


4. When do you take the tree down? Right after Three King’s Day (around Jan 5th)

 

5. Do you like eggnog? Way too much, even though it gives me the loose bowels.

  

6. Favorite gift received as a child? I would have to go with my Atari complete with Donkey Kong and Space Invaders.


7 Hardest person to buy for? Me. 

 

8. Easiest person to buy for? My grandmother. Scented candles ot flowers are all she ever wants.  

 

9. Do you have a nativity scene? Yes. It goes in our front window.


10. Mail or email Christmas cards? I get to give some in person. The rest I e-mail. 

 

11. Worst Christmas gift you ever received? I’ve gotten some pretty horrible sweaters.

 

12. Favorite Christmas Movie? A Christmas Story hands down. Although It’s A Wonderful Life gets me every time. There are so many I love though.

  

           

13. When do you start shopping for Christmas? I started last week, but the bulk of it starts after Thanksgiving for me. 

 

14. Have you ever recycled a Christmas present? No. Not that I remember at least.

 

15. Favorite thing to eat at Christmas? Hmm. This is tough. I’d have to go with a Haitian dish my grandmother usually makes. Conche Meat. It’s my favorite and she rarely makes it. I have also become quite fond of White Chocolate covered Oreos.


16. Lights on the tree? Is this a real question? Of course!

 

17. Favorite Christmas song? The Christmas Song – Nat King Cole Version. I’ll have more on this later.

 

18. Travel at Christmas or stay at home? Most of my family is here in New York with me so I stay home. New York is the best place to be for Christmas anyway. I may go to Miami one of these years though,


19. Can you name all of Santa’s reindeer’s? Is Rudolph’s nose red? Of Course I can!

 

20. Angel on the tree top or a star? Both. They are kind of right next to eachother.

 

21. Open the presents Christmas Eve or morning? Well It used to be that my mom’s side would do Christmas Eve, and my Dad’s would do Christmas Day. Now it’s all on Christmas Day though.

 

22. Most annoying thing about this time of the year? People who like to shit all over things and try to ruin it for those of us who really enjoy.

 

23. Favorite ornament theme or color? This is tough. We have a set of antique crystal icicles that go onto the tree last. They add a really nice glow to the tree because they reflect the light really well.

 

24. Favorite for Christmas dinner? The wine! lol.

 

25. What do you want for Christmas this year.  Good will to mankind and Rock Band 2 (the complete set). 

25 comments

  1. i can see it!um, i can’t believe you got up so early just to shop and watch people be ridiculous.also, you LIKED that Knicks trade?  hm.  they had better win the Lebron sweepstakes, then.  uh oh.

  2. I usually go out on black Friday but this year I’m feeling a bit under the weather. Also, I have no money and I figured there wouldn’t be too many good deals with the economy lagging. Seems like you had a pretty good Thanksgiving. I’m not used to people food hopping on Thanksgiving, just Christmas. Yeah, why did you make the list black too!? I was like where the heck is the list?

  3. Yay! I like the friendly Holiday Dave! I feel all warm and fuzzy inside. 🙂 I agree about Black Friday. The sales were nothing and the lines were insane. But nonetheless, I did bust out my candy cane underwear to help get in the holiday mood (in case you wanted to know!).

  4. @TheBigShowAtUD – I woke up that early to see the online sales. I went to the store around 9:30. As for the Knicks, even if they don’t win the Lebron sweepstakes, which they have a great shot at winning, there are still a bunch of great free agents available that summer who are way better than Crawford or Randolph. Also it’s not like the Knicks were going to do anything great this year anyway. We were looking at about a .500 record and a first round playoff exit at best.

  5. This was my first Black Friday shopping experience. (as well as the first for both of my sisters – I am the youngest at 23!)  We all agreed while there were some good deals on some things, the sales for the first half of the month of November are WAY better than Black Friday.  Not worth the crowds and lines and getting up super early if you are looking for something specific.I hope you have better luck this afternoon if you decide to brave the stores!  I would say, if you can, wait until after Christmas.  The bigger ticket items will probably still be left and you will probably be able to get some killer deals!

  6. Great list… I promise to do it on my blog, probably this weekend. I’m glad you’re sentimental about the holidays, ya big dweeb. I am too. Last year we didn’t feel like celebrating- my brother died on 18 December- but this year I plan on going all out, for Ashley and Nathaniel, as well as to honor Jean-Paul’s memory.

  7. wow that really rally sucks. theres computer selling for 300 dollars over here the prices are so crazy on black Friday over here.I’ve never shopped on black Friday though my brothers have though.

  8. Ugh, no shopping for me today.  There’s nothing I want that badly to get up that early and battle crowds.  Besides, I stay up late every Thanksgiving, getting everything cleaned up and put away.  When I finally get off my feet, it’s going to be for many hours!Sounds like you had a great day, and even more fun tomorrow.Love your list!Kathi

  9. Awww, sorry your Black Friday didn’t pan out the way you had hopped! Sounds like an eventful Thanksgiving. I only made it to my moms and my grandparents, but I love to travel about to different houses..oooh family gotta love em!…..I’ll be looking forward to all your Yule-tide postings!

  10. I’ve only done the whole Black Friday thing once.  It was a couple Thanksgivings ago, and I woke up really early that morning (I have a sensitive stomach and it was bothering me again) and I couldn’t fall back asleep.  So, I figured, what the hell.  Threw on some clothes and prepared to get trampled.I was thoroughly disappointed.I went to a couple local malls, and the crowds were bad (for 5 am) but weren’t any different than you’d normally see in the mall.  I got a good parking spot, but only because I know a tucked away part of the parking lot that’s close to an entrance and most people don’t know about.  The specials weren’t that great… 25% off here, buy one get one 50% off there… nothing to write home to momma about.  No trampling, no fighting over the last item on the shelf.  Yawns all around.In fact, this year, I went into the mall to get some coffee.  The crowds still weren’t bad, and the specials were the same.  So I’m not exactly sure what the point is.My father-in-law, it turns out, had decided to go to Best Buy to get a camera for really cheap.  He waited in the line, freezing his rear end off, until the doors finally opened.  They had 100 of these cameras, and there were about 50 people in front of him in line, so he figured he was safe.  He got inside and saw the pile of cameras and went to pick one up.  The employee asked him for his token.  Apparently, before the lines even began forming, Best Buy had handed out tokens for the good stuff.  No token = no purchase.  Unfortunately, they didn’t bother to actually tell anyone this.  After waiting in line for hours, he walked out empty-handed, and vowed never to shop at Best Buy again.My mother went a couple years ago because Wal-Mart had a TV for really cheap.  She managed to get the cheap TV, but it broke within a couple of months.  She also waited in line for hours (though it wasn’t as cold; she lives in TN) and saw a few scary moments when the crowds surged (luckily no one was hurt).So, why again does everyone do this whole Black Friday thing?

  11. Love the background!  You made it? wow im impressed I have trouble changing my fonts!Glad you had a nice holiday….I made my entire thanksgiving dinner yesterday for the bronco game….I do this just so that we have leftovers lolbtw DID YOU SEE THE BRONCOS STOMP THE JETS??? Im so confused!

Leave a Reply

