Writing My Life Story

Yesterday I watched the Notorious B.I.G. movie for the first time. I must say it wasn’t bad. It wasn’t great either, but I was watching it on DVD so it didn’t have to be.

After the movie was over my mind started to wander a bit. I started to wonder whether my life is interesting enough to fill two hours worth of film. I mean it may not seem it, but two hours, or even an hour and a half, is a long time.

I think if I were to have any shot of filling an entire movie, the story would have to be filled with uneventful encounters that help paint a picture of who I am. By this I mean it could be just a simple visit to my grandmother’s house where one can see the dynamics of my familial relationships in play. I think I would want Jason Reitman (director of Juno) to help me out with that. Nothing life changing has to be happening at every second, but hopefully we would be able to paint an interesting enough picture without a boatload of drama.

This is not to say that there wouldn’t be drama. I’ve had my fair share of crap to deal with. I think my childhood was traumatic enough to say that I’ve overcome adversity. I don’t think you can have a successful biopic without having some sort of a messed up childhood to begin with. Ideally I would have been raised by a single mother (isn’t that always the case for a black man who overcame adversity?), but unfortunately I have a loving family. They are just a bit fucked in the head is all.

The more I think of it, the more I think I want to give writing my life story a shot. It might be smart for me to wait a few years till I’ve accomplished a bit more, but in truth I’ve already started telling my life story through my writing and my standup. I hope that one day I’ll be able to take a bunch of my sets and a bunch of my entries and really make something substantive out of them. For now I’ll just keep working on these little chunks at a time.

Gonna be in the NYC area this Friday evening? If so, maybe you wanna come see me in action. Here are some details…

David Salnave LIVE!!! (How is this for self-aggrandizing?)
New York Comedy Club
241 E 24th Street (between 2nd and 3rd Ave)
New York, NY
212-696-5233

 

9 comments

  1. I want to go soo much. I’ve actually been contemplating coming to NYC this summer to visit a friend. I’ll remember you.And personally, I think life stories are excellent. I’d tune in

  2. Well here’s a chapter for your life story: Xangans grab their pitchforks and come after you for deleting their thoughtful, funny, erudite comments. Of course those were the best comments ever written in the history of commenting and now they’re gone forever.

  3. Dear Dave,Come to L.A. and I’ll catch your act. We have LOTS of Comedy Clubs out here. I once heclked Jay Leno when he was trying out material for a Tonight Show appearance. (Years ago when Johnny was the Tonight host and I was a big drunk who almost got kicked out of the club.)I’m of the opinion that EVERYONE eventually has a great life story. Thanks to the internet and blogs, we find out a lot about people we don’t know. The better writers can spin a tale that is really interesting. BTW, you remind me I haven’t written my “high school” chapters of my autobiography yet. I’ve been writing my autobiography on my blogs and website for over five years now. “Notorious” is #1 on my Netflix queue. Funny you seem to allude to the fact that watching a movie on DVD isn’t the same as seeing it in a theater. You don’t have my rig. With a big enough HDTV screen, in the dark, with a Blu Ray DVD, I don’t miss the fact I don’t see a movie in  a theater every week like I used to.I’m sure someday I’ll be reading the autobiography of a standup comic named Dave Salnave.Make sure somebody tapes your performance. I’d certainly volunteer (but you’d have to fly me to the apple, nyuk nyuk.)Michael F. Nyiri, poet, philosopher. fool(P.S. Re: Your pulse. Get in touch with someone on the Xanga team. They’ve been able to “recapture” comments for people who’ve deleted them inadvertantly in the past.)

Leave a Reply

