Live From New York…

Well okay, not live exactly. It was live at some point. Last Friday to be exact.

I did my first real show in a while last Friday. I was back at the New York Comedy Club (my stomping grounds), but this time with a new producer. The old producer I would frequently work with was cool, and I’ll still do a show with him from time to time, but I am realy focusing on working with some new people.

The show went great (for me at least). There was a pretty decent turnout, I had some friends come to see me who hadn’t gotten to see me before, and most important of all, I was on fire. (Okay, maybe I should tone that down a little. I want to temper your expectations before you watch the video.) 

I needed a show like this in the worst way. I was starting to get really disenchanted with the whole stand up thing. It was beginning to feel like a hassle to do shows. I said when I started doing this, that I was doing it primarily for fun. Once it starts to feel like work, I am out. Between nights with empty clubs, and overbooked shows, and crap producers, it was absolutely starting to feel like work. I had just been telling someone that I am missing the joy that I had when I first started. I was no longer excited to get up on that stage. I needed a boost. (Standup steroids?)

As I sat outside of the club putting my set together on Friday, I decided to switch my approach a little. I was going to talk on stage just like I would talk to a friend. Once I got up that place would be my living room. It’s one thing to say these things in your head before the show, and it’s another thing to actually do it. I am very happy that I was able to put this theory into practice. It felt really good up there.

51 comments

  1. Good job! You reminded me of a god I had that once had 15 puppies… she used to run away from them whenever they tried to nurse. Now that’s a deadbeat mom. Love the way you ended your set. Appropriately hilarious.

  2. Happy for you that you did your thing and felt great doing so. I hope it works out for you. Not half bad. Maybe I’ll even buy your DVD when it comes out

  3. Yay! Dave this was awesome!  I’m so glad you posted this up because it’s so great to see other sides of people at Xanga that you really like!  Hey, no lie…I’d pay cover to go see you onstage!

  4. You are hilarious, and hot! 🙂 🙂 Great show, I especially loved the “google it” line ha ha!! Thanks for posting this, and I hope you keep doing this!

  5. Wowwwwwwwwwwww!! Youuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu!! I can’t believe, you rooooooockkkk!!Stand-up comedian in NY *sigh* USA life is exactly like what I watch on tv shows… :-OWhen I go to NY I’d love to come n’ see you

Leave a Reply

