Do You Have the Clap?

So during the three day weekend I took some time out to go watch Terminator Salvation. I won’t go into full on review mode, but I will say that I enjoyed the movie.

There was a point in that night that annoyed the hell out of me though. Directly after the movie ended, during the closing credits, some members of the audience felt it appropriate to give the movie a 10 second standing ovation. Really? I don’t see Christian Bale anywhere in the movie theater guys. What the hell are you clapping for? 

Are you showing appreciation for the theater workers who were able to keep the floor to minimum stickiness today? Or maybe you were applauding your fellow audience members for keeping the noise to a tolerable level during the movie? Either of these would make more sense than clapping at the big inanimate screen at the front of the theater. 

Oh how movie clappers annoy me so. It’s annoying when the movie is a marginally good movie, but it’s even more annoying when the movie sucks. The most annoying of all is when I think the movie is great. This is because I often find myself clapping right along with those douchebag movie clappers just off of pure reflex. I just saw something awesome, I hear clapping, I should clap too. Then I catch myself and think “Dave you idiot! You’re clapping at a movie. Cut it out!”

Do you clap at the movies?

62 comments

  1. Hahahaha!!! I think I’m in the same boat with you on this one, actually. At home, where’s it’s a small town and I know everyone and no one really cares, I went to the movies to see something. I don’t even recall what it is now. But at the end of the movie, some people started clapping, and I literally yelled, “Dudes, stop clapping!” But then, I knew those guys, so it was slightly different. And that video clip is great.

  2. The only time I have ever clapped at a movie was when I went to see the midnight showing of Twilight, and I was cramped into a theater with 300 other people wearing shirts reading stuff along the lines of “I Bite.” It wasn’t worth the risk not to.

  3. Ha! You got jumped by the Trekkies! *LOL*  I never clap at a movie and I roll my eyes when people do. I saw Wolverine this past weekend. It was not a great film, but people clapped afterward.  That thing did not deserve applause!

  4. I clapped at the end of The Dark Knight and at the end of Star Trek.  If I get at least two movie-gasms during the show, I think applause is the least I can do.

  5. haha ironically i just saw terminator last night, luckily no clapping occurred. I enjoyed the movie, although predictable it was entertaining and not too sappy or anything! ~Angel~

  6. I think people clap out of surprise that they were able to see a film without having to listen to someone narrate every scene or spend the whole film ignoring a toddler who is too young to see it in the first place.

  7. I don’t think I’ve ever done it, either as reflex because everyone else is, or otherwise. Of course, I have to be fair and admit that I don’t go to the movies often enough for this to ever come up — I’m sure I’d do it out of reflex given the same situation, too.

  8. I never understood why people clap in the movies either. I think it is by far the dumbest thing ever. Do they clap in their houses at the end of a movie? If they do then they need to save that garbage for the privacy of their own homes, they don’t have to show the world that they are idiots! smh.@Dare2BDiferentt – No, that is definitely a cause to clap!

  9. I forget what movie it was, but it was outstanding, that was the only time I have been in a movie that everyone clapped.  It was weird, but felt right   Audience bonding I guess.

  10. I am definitely not a clapper, but i have been in the presence of clappers and i couldn’t for the life of me figure out why they were doing so. Oh, the strangeness that is the human being.

  11. I clapped when I saw Terminator Salvation too.  It was also out of reflex.  None of that standing shit though, I sit my ass down until the theatre is empty.  I hate fighting bitches in the washroom for a place to pee.  Or giving them the slant eye for pissing on the toilet seat.  Fuck I hate public restrooms.  I loved the movie though.  Not Christian Bale’s performance as much as Sam Worthington’s.  I think Marcus really helped make the movie.  My boyfriend made a good point though, they didn’t really cover much ground and got kind of sidetracked with his story.  But I did really love that.I also dislike when people clap/cheer during a “good” movie scene.  WOOT THAT MUTHAFUKA GOT SHOT BOO YEAH I don’t need to hear.  I don’t need your laughing and clapping at a particularly funny scene too.  I mean if everyone is pissing their pants laughing, go ahead, but there’s a fine line there.

  12. Lmao. XD I can’t remember if I’ve ever seen anyone clapping at a movie before. I think it’s funny, personally. But yeah, pretty ridiculous, too. Anyway, I saw Terminator Salvation the other day, myself. It was alright; the action was great, it just sometimes felt like the makers of the movie just made an action movie for the sake of making an action movie. I love me some Marcus, though, man. 😀

  13. That movie was not worth clapping for.It’s pretty much only kids’ movies that get applause in my part of the country, and even then, it’s rare.I personally do not like to clap for something unless, as you pointed out, someone who was in it/helped production was actually there.

  14. When I was a kid, it was tradition to clap at the movies; just a fun little thing we did. As an adult, the only movie I have ever clapped after was “Schindler’s List” (the opening weekend), and that was very much warranted.

  15. I can’t remember if I have or not, but now that you put it that way, it does seem rather silly.I know I had the urge to clap at the end of Star Trek though. Not sure why. Very strange. I’ve never really thought about this before.

  16. movie clapping is ridiculous.  people in my town do it all the time.  i just give them the classic “wtf are you doing stare?” and see how long it takes them to sit down ^-^

  17. No! Eww! I think the only time I’ve ever heard clapping at the movies was when the hero triumphs and the bad guys get a righteous ass whuppin’ But clapping because you liked it? Maybe they’re clapping for the guy who ran the projector?? (Do they even do it that way anymore?)

  18. I havent clapped at a movie since I was 5 years old.  And I’m pretty sure it was at some inappropriate time and probably while watching Flashdance. 

  19. I only clap for great films… back before there were films there were theater plays that received applause. I think of it in this way, kind of showing the massive amount of effort all the cast and crew put into the movie a little appreciation. We appreciate the efforts of dead soldiers, artists, and other leaders when they’re not around… why should this be different?

  20. Hm. It depends on how I feel about the movie. I don’t clap along with the others if I think the movie sucks. And it also depends on my mood. If I was in mood to be touching or inspirational and the movie that I just watched happens to inspire me, then I might clap.

  21. I haven’t been at a lot of movies where people have clapped.  I wish I could say that I’ve never clapped at a movie, but I have to admit, I did clap at the end of the Karate Kid, of all things.  I’m not sure why I *have* to admit that, since it’s so humiliating.  It just seems like the thing to do.

  22. @vanedave – Eh, no. I don’t clap at Top Blogs. If it was either TheBigShow or Dare2BDiferentt who made it to Top Blogs, then I will clap. Even I’d clap for you….if you have some very nice posts. 

Leave a Reply

