Hitler in Heaven

Have you ever been told that you were going to hell? I don’t mean like some ex-girlfriend telling you to go to hell, I mean like for real.

A close friend of mine used to tell me this all of the time. He told me that he loves me so he felt compelled to let me know that my soul was in peril.

“I don’t want you to go to hell man.”

“What the hell are you talking about?”

“You are not saved. The only way for you to get to heaven is to be saved in his name.”

“I believe in Jesus dude. You know this.”

“Believing will not save you. It is not enough to simply believe.”

Needless to say this news did not go over well with me. It sort of pissed me off to learn that even though I’ve been a pretty good guy in life, I was still on my way to eternal damnation. I refused to accept this. “So you’re saying that no matter how good a person is, they will go to hell if they don’t get saved?” He threw a bible passage at me and said that Jesus is the only gateway to heaven. Living what we perceive to be a good life is meaningless if we are not saved.

Then he said something that blew my mind.

He told me the man who has lived his life full of sin, will make it to heaven before the righteous man if he is saved. That just doesn’t seem right. I tested this theory by asking him a hypothetical question;

“So let’s say there is someone who is universally believed to be a good person. Mother Theresa for example. If she has not been saved she is going to hell?”

“Yes”

“And on the flipside, let’s say Hitler took on Jesus as his savior on his deathbed, would that be enough to get him into heaven?”

“If he was sincere and genuine, yes it would.”

hitler
I’m really sorry Jesus 😦

Now I ask you guys, does that seem right? 

76 comments

  1. I totally get what you are saying. It seems like a bit of a rip off to those who have believed and given their lives completely to Jesus. However, none of us are infallable and we all sin at some point, to be sin free would be inhuman we are all susceptable to it no matter how hard we try it can happen at any time. Its hard to accept that people like Hitler could live their lives as evil tyrant dictatorous murderers and still get accepted by Jesus in Heaven. I find it hard to believe that people like him could be in heaven. Only God Himsleelf can be the judge of what people have done in the lives He gave them. He knows their hearts and if He finds them to be true then they will get to Heaven. Its easy to be saved so long as you have faith in Jesus, all you have to do is say “I accept you Jesus as my Lord and Saviour, my belief and faith in you is for you alone, I want you in my life forever.” or something to that effect. Most people who believe in Jesus have already done that, so therefore you are saved. Bless you brother, Chris.

  2. Don’t listen to this BS   I’m sure Hitler is dancing with the Devil and he probably loves it. The last minute – believing in God and begging forgiveness doesn’t apply to that guy. I’ve been to Hell and seen him so you know it’s true. 

  3. @no1charmerlondon – Chris, I believe that you have the right “reading” on the matter.  To be ‘saved’ means that we acknowledge our sinfulness before God and repent of our sins truly trusting in Christ alone for salvation (which none of us actually deserves). That question about could Hitler really be saved is certainly very hypothetical and theoretical.  But I don’t believe that he could ever have repented – he was just too far gone in his awful sins and crimes against humanity!  He was the prime cause of some six million Jewish people (God’s historic people) being put to death in gas chambers.  No he was far too hardened to repent!I liked your answer. It was thoughtful, logical and compelling. I know you are a young man of faith!David

  4. Great post!  Man, religion is all screwed up.  To me, it reads like California law books with tons of loop holes.  You can get away with murder if you take certain courses of action. Heck, all us seafood lovers are going to perish anyway because shellfish is deemed an abomination, right?  A sick-sad world.Half my family is Buddhist and the other Catholic.  I grew up so damned confused.  Like you, I just try to live the humble good life.  Sure, I believe in God (I believe everyone around the world does, but just sees him differently) but living life line for line from a book, constantly rewritten through biased interpretations of despotic kings throughout the ages… seems fishy.  Don’t even let me get started on all the spin-off religions.  GAH!

  5. I don’t think anyone on this Earth has a right to say who is going to Heaven or Hell. There is only one who can judge and that is God. None of us should play God and judge or say where we are going after death. People should focus on living their lives for the Lord. The Bible says that good works will not get you into the Kingdom, but that doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t do good in this life. God sees what you do daily and when your time comes He will show you all that you have done and He will judge accordingly. If Hitler was sorry for his sins then he probably went to Heaven, but if he wasn’t sorry then he might have gone to Hell. However, it’s not just about repenting for your sins. It is about BELIEVING and giving yourself to Jesus. If you give yourself to Jesus even at the very last moment of your life, you will still have that chance to save yourself and have Everlasting Life which is what God promised us all. The Bible says that, “He who lives in Christ will not perish but have eternal life”. No matter what the sin is, if you have truly repented and asked Jesus to come into your heart, you will be saved. Blessings! 

  6. I feel like I have my own personal relationship with Jesus and I could really care less if it’s the exact way the Bible tells me to have him in my life. I think people that preach to other people about their religious behavior have control issues. In my opinion, Jesus has a different relationship with every person and he’ll decide based on that personal relationship if that person should go to heaven or hell. 

  7. I remember a joke where a very good person dies and goes to heaven. He is greeted at the Pearly Gates and given a tour. He comes first to a door with the sound of music and laughter behind it. He is told the Buddhists are behind it enjoying eternity. The tour continues in similar fashion with more doors and more “joyful noise” and is told that behind them are Islams, and Jews, and every other religion. At last they come to a hallway that is very quiet, and he is instructed to keep completely silent and tiptoe past. Once out of the hallway he is told, that’s where the Christians are. We like to indulge them; they think they’re the only ones here.

  8. I believet that the formula for salvation is a simple thing but it is in the heart of a person not in some cute little theological recipe or some stictly worded prayer that man has created. We are to come to him like children trusting what we know of him with what we know of us. When you know God your heart confirms it for you and you need no one else to acknowledge or explain it for you. I believe God himself calls people to him when it is their time to be called. I believe that as Christians it is not our job to call people to God. I believe that it is our job to love everyone God brings into our lives in such a way that others will recognize and hunger for His kind of love. Then when he calls them they will already be familiar with his voice because they have heard and seen an echo of it in us. I think a heartfelt deathbed confession is possible but rather unlikely. After someone has lived their entire lives filled up with hate I imagine it would be very hard to suddenly open it up to a point of being able to love like a child loves. I believe hell is reserved for those who actively reject the call of God when it comes. They do not wish to be with God and God does not force them to be with him. I believe that hell is eternal seperation from God and that only those who choose that seperation will get it.

  9. It’s based upon a misreading of Scripture and a misunderstanding of God. After all, He is infinitely powerful and infinitely merciful, not to mention we do not know His plans for others. Like Paul, pray, believe, live the best life you can, and hope.

  10. If he was a close friend he loved you, and if he really believed that, he felt compelled to share his beliefs. I had some other stuff typed but I don’t want to annoy you. Have a great day anyways.

  11. I see what you’re saying, but I think there’s an overlooked problem with the argument “I tried my best to be a good person.” How would “good” be measured if we all got to heaven by being good? Would it be if our good outweighed our bad? How would that be measured? Would it be a relative kind of judgement, if I’m better than the next man I get in? Where would be the cutoff point? What if a person was just “one sin” too many, do they get condemned? Maybe if we had our way deciding, we would judge that way, but ultimately it doesn’t matter how we would do things, it matters only the way God’s decided to do things. I believe God’s way is an individual judgement according to His law. But according to God’s law, I don’t measure up and neither does anyone else. If I was held to the ten commandments, it would only be revealed that I’m a blasphemer, a liar, a thief, and even a murderer and adulteress in my heart. So if I went by my works, I could never be declared righteous standing before God because the truth is I’m not. No matter how many good things I do, I still do bad. If we could have earned our way into heaven by doing good works, why would God have sent Jesus into the world to die for us? The Bible says that salvation comes by grace through faith in Jesus Christ. He lived the perfect life that none of us are able to live and He took the sins of the world on Himself, the punishment we all deserve so that we don’t have to. God did this because He loves us.As far as Hitler goes, it is true that Hitler could have been saved by placing his faith in Jesus. The truth is, Jesus died for Hitler too and Jesus took Hitler’s sins upon Himself just as He took all of our sins. But doesn’t that give us hope that God is able to forgive even the worst of us? Maybe we think it unfair, but if we really consider what is fair, it wasn’t fair that Jesus who was perfect took the blame for all the sins (past, present, and future) of the world including your sins and mine. So I am thankful that God is not only just, He is also merciful.As far as heaven goes, I think sometimes we lose sight of what eternal life really is. Heaven isn’t just a place that some get to go when they die. Jesus defined eternal life in John 17 as knowing God. It’s all about having a relationship with Him. I think sometimes we forget that according to the Bible, there is nothing greater than having a relationship with God and that is our life’s purpose. I think too often we get the view of heaven as clouds and harps when in reality, it is being with God who is all-good and whose love is perfect.

  12. There is no way that hitler can be in heaven. Even if he repented at the last moment there is nothing in his final actions that show that he truly repented. He killed himself rather than be captured and made to pay for crimes. You can say all you want that you are a christian, but your faith is nothing without deeds. And your deeds are nothing without faith. Mother Theresa professed Christ in her actions and the way she lived her life. in james 2:26 it says “as the body without the spirit is dead, so faith without deeds is dead.”

  13. One of my favorite spiritual teachers, Rubin “the hurricane” Carter observes that hatred consumes the vessel it is contained in. This is a useful lesson. The old Buddhist wisdom is that hatred and blame is like drinking poison and expecting the other fellow to die. So our judgment is always of ourselves, we just project it onto someone else, and some folks make better targets than others, Hitler being a particularly easy one. It doesn’t solve anything, though.

  14. If Jesus existed, he died for all or our sins.  All of them.  All of us.  Nothing further is needed.We would all, then, go to heaven.Of course, the whole concept of god sacrificing his only begotten son to save us from, well, god, is a crock of shit.

  15. Oh goodie, if you are “saved”  you could be roomies with Hitler!  Just think of the comedy skits you can do in the heavenly lounge:”Yeah, and then my roommate Hitler says….”

  16. Living a good life is admirable, but it’s not enough.  We are only saved by placing our faith in Christ.  A kind-hearted person who did not accept Christ will go to Hell.  Whereas a serial killer who accepted Christ will go to Heaven.  Our righteousness is as filthy rags to God;  He only accepts us if we are found in Christ.  His ways are not our ways, and how it seems to us is really irrelevant.

  17. The way this is worded is not really biblically correct. The bible says that no one is righteous and that our own righteousness are as filthy rags. The problem is that we are determining what we think makes a person righteous instead of what God says. So , both Mother Theresa and Hitler are sinners. If Hitler truly repented on his deathbed then yes, God would forgive him. But it’s unlikely that someone who lives their whole life in rebellion towards God will truly repent at the end. It’s possible but unlikely.

  18. A thought-provoking post. I am glad God is the judge.So Jesus is the only way to Heaven, but I could see Him accepting followers of other religions, especially if they had never been taught about Jesus Christ. I mean, there were all those people who lived and died before Jesus came, and there was no Jesus known yet to follow. There are still people who have never heard Him or heard the truth about Him. It looks like the Bible says we can learn enough about God’s character through creation.”For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities-his eternal power and divine nature- have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that men are without excuse.” Romans 1:20(Talking about being without excuse for wickedness/unrighteousness- I take it as meaning that we as humans have enough information through nature and the world around us to know better than to do bad things, even if we’ve never heard the whole story of Salvation.)So, partly because of this verse, I think that perhaps a person who has never known about a Savior but earnestly seeks God in the only way he or she knows, from what he or she knows, could well be accepted by God. After all, God isn’t willing that any should perish. I don’t know all the rules in this invisible conflict over human souls, but I think God is going to try to save as many people a He “legally” can.  It isn’t that any of us can have any true righteousness of our very own. Not even Mother Theresa. It sounds trite, but part of me thinks shouldn’t worry about it, leave the saving to God, and trust that He really will do what is right. So I guess I don’t fully agree with your friend, even though he has a fiercely defendable position. Hitler? Well, like Dan said, I doubt he ever came to repentance. Again, I’m glad God is the judge, and not me.

  19. That really doesn’t seem right.  I do believe that people can change (by realizing their mistakes and improving their lives), but I think that a person has to do this by actually doing good in life, not just by converting to any specific religion.  I don’t know if there’s an afterlife or a god, but if god favored people of one religion over another, regardless of their actions, I would think that was rather ridiculous.I love the question, “Is Judas Iscariot in Heaven or Hell?”  After all, someone had to betray Jesus, and it would be unfair if he went to Hell for doing something that supposedly helped save everyone (at least, according to Christianity).Thanks for posting.- J. M. 713

  20. Simply put, that dude is very typical of a certain faction of Christians. Of course it doesn’t make sense! Christianity is, even in its most liberal and benign interpretations, a bastion of irrationality. No one that knows me would lay that spiel on me. If I happen to run into someone that lays that crap on me, I’m going to politely tell him to shut up and leave me alone.

  21. “Believing will not save you. It is not enough to simply believe.”I have a problem with that statement. Believing is the main thing. Does John 3:16 say “whoever believes in Him and says this prayer and follows these steps and subscribes to this denomination’s doctrine will have eternal life?” That’s not what my Bible says, but then I have the NASB. Maybe it’s different in the KJV.

  22. I think that Biblically, I disagree with both you and your friend. I disagree with you on the issue of works righteousness and I disagree with your friend on the issue of “being saved.”First, works righteousness. Essentially, the belief that you can earn your way to heaven through good works, i.e. through being righteous your whole life. This merit system of righteousness would have God up at the pearly gates with a big list going “nope, sorry, you lied one too many times; you go to hell.” or “good thing you helped that old lady across the street at the last second; one less good work and you would have made the naughty list.” This theory says there are “good people” who do mostly good things all their life and there are “bad people” who do mostly bad things all their life, and that we can earn our own way to heaven if we simply make sure the good outweighs the bad before we die. This seems to be the view you express when you talk about the difference between hitler and mother teresa. In fact, there is no such thing as a “good person.” “For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.” (Romans 3:23). ALL people have sinned. And sin deserves death. “For the wages of sin is death” (Romans 6:23). And as such, we ALL deserve to go to hell. Whether we murder or tell lies or hate or steal or think dirty thoughts. All of us sin in some way and thus deserve hell. However, Jesus came and died for our sins, took them away, and at that moment gave us the gift of eternal life “The wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our lord.” (Romans 6:23). This is where I begin to disagree with your friend.See, we all “got saved” that day Jesus died on the cross for our sins. All it takes to get to heaven is belief in that salvation. Belief that he did indeed ALREADY save us. “Whoever believes and is baptized will be saved but whoever does not believe will be condemned” (Mark 16:16). Baptism allows the holy spirit into our heart and is an outward sign of this belief. In short, “Getting saved” isn’t something you need to renew, like a subscription to a magazine. It already happened that day Jesus died on the cross for your sins. You can’t undergo any ceremony or do any amount of good works that will make you any more “saved” than you were the day you first believed. Good works are simply a RESULT of our salvation, not a cause. Anyone who truly believes in God will WANT to live according to his word out of thankfulness to him, and so good works follow. But they don’t GET us to heaven. Either you believe and go to heaven, or you don’t believe and go to hell. It really is that simple.The problem is that we as humans like to make things complicated. Our favorite three words are “it’s not fair!” We like to scream these at God when we perceive situations as being unjust. Hitler going to heaven seems incredibly unjust to us, because he did terrible, terrible things. But it could happen. If Hitler truly believed in God (unlikely because his actions did not reflect God’s–those who truly believe will live according to God’s word as a result of that belief, reflecting God’s love out of thankfulness to God. Hitler didn’t do that, so his sincere belief is HIGHLY unlikely) But if he truly did believe, he would go to heaven. The thing is, we don’t WANT God to be just. Because if he is truly just, we would all fail the test. We would all go to hell. Instead of us pointing fingers at God and saying “God! How could you love that horrible person as much as you love me?!?!” We have to remember that we are all horrible, sinful people. We all deserve hell. We may be too blind to see our own sins, believing ourselves perfect or righteous, but they’re there. And the fact that God has taken them away and doesn’t see them anymore-that’s amazing. We should accept his salvation with thankfulness, yet all we can do is look around and say “What? you’re saving that person too?” We judge God this way, when by all accounts he should be judging us, and isn’t.So instead of complaining about the injustice of the word, I think we have to rejoice that God ISN”T going to deal with us justly, and let our lives reflect his love for us, knowing we’re forever in debt to Him no matter how many good works we think we’re doing to deserve his love. 

  23. bible passage throwing is just simply  childish,  banish them from your imediate space… calling them words like foul and non xangan patriot.  I personally love devout chirstians.. they give me no end of entertainment. When I’m down I go there  and I’m filled with goldenish existence that is not believing in god.  I don’t bother them,  but they don’t bother me either…  some need to be put down and shut up though.  Quoting the bible or anything is not arguing a point.  Its wussing out in my estimation.  Writing your own thoughts though is impossible for alot of people.  Can you imagine that?  you don’t know how lucky we are to have this…. well you do.Peace..  nice insight

  24. God loves us all and wants us all to have a fair chance. But we humans make the mistake of assuming God’s point of view would be the same as ours. For example, in God’s eyes, sin is sin, no one sin is greater than the other. It doesn’t matter if you look at someone and call them a name in your head or murder them, it’s the same either way, and needs forgiveness anyway. Supposedly, it’s about God’s great love for us. The gift of salvation is exactly that, a gift, to have salvation all we must do is accept that gift, it isn’t given away to people whether they ask for it or not, how would that be free will? He leaves it up to us whether we want to decide to accept that salvation or not. And that’s all that matters. In a way, I see it as God having compassion on the lesser of us, loving us all equally. In OUR point of view, it isn’t fair, but then God doesn’t operate the same way we do. There are no levels of sin in God’s eyes just as there is no level of worthiness of Heaven in His eyes. To accept the gift of salvation all one must do is believe in Jesus, and take Jesus into your heart. Simple as that. It really isn’t that hard to do. Anyone can ask for the gift of salvation, and anyone who does, receives it. So anyone who chooses not to ask for it when they know about it, well that is their choice. They have only themselves to blame for not going to heaven because they’ve CHOSEN not to, knowingly. Heaven is not a reward for a life lived wonderfully but a decision to be with God after you die. I, for one, am glad it isn’t based on works because that would open a can of worms, where would the line be drawn? The line would be different for everyone. And no one would really know whether or not they meet the requirements for going to heaven and everyone would have nervous breakdowns and shoot up offices full of people from the pressure of trying to be good enough even though you don’t know what good enough is… it just doesn’t really work out well that way. And honestly, so what if Hitler goes to heaven? He isn’t being rewarded for being evil when he was alive. He’d have just accepted a gift the rest of us did. We are all sinners. We have all sinned, maybe not as much as Hitler did and maybe in OUR eyes he was a monster but in God’s eyes Hitler is a sinner just like the rest of us. If someone as good as Mother Theresa chose to reject the gift despite knowing about it, then that’s her problem, not God’s… God clearly lays out what it takes to get what HE created. It wasn’t like God stole heaven from somewhere or someone and then put his own rules on it to make it unfair. God CREATED heaven himself and it’s his to offer any way he wants to.Other belief systems have their own version of heaven along with what it takes to gain entrance. Why do so many people want God’s idea of heaven but think God’s wrong for what he’s chosen to decide it takes to get there? The beauty of God granting us free will is that it’s up to us whether or not we subscribe to God. If we don’t like the way it’s set up, we can choose not to believe. Yes, God says you’ll go to hell for it, but if you can choose to believe or not believe in Christianity you can also choose to believe in another system, one whose rules for the afterlife you don’t have a problem with. If you have decided you don’t believe in Christianity enough that going to hell is the price you’ll pay for it, why do you care anyway? Why do you care if you’re going to hell if you don’t believe in it in the first place? (Not you, specifically, Dave, this was more directed to the general public.)

  25. There this african american preacher I saw on 60 Minutes that basically said that Hitler and non-christianswould enter heaven. I forgot his name, he had some interesting things he said. I think he got the boot out of the Oral Roberts ministries.

  26. In my opinion, it doesn’t matter how much anyone argues on this subject because it doesn’t actually change anything.But I also believe that a true believer of Jesus could never do the things Hitler did.  His heart was (figuratively speaking, of course) too eaten away at by power, greed and hatred.  Although miracles happen, it’s hard to imagine anyone doing that much of a 180.But anyway, I know this goes against traditional Christian belief but I prefer more of an introspective and personal relationship with God.  My feelings on this subject are…I’m going to live my life as best as I can and believe that Jesus is my Lord and Savior and believe and hope I’m right.  Beyond myself, what difference does it make?  It’s up to God.  It’s truly hard to imagine a great philanthropist being condemned to hell… but me, I don’t think about it since it’s really beyond my scope and it’s a moot point.  I trust that God, being a divinely wise presence, knows what’s up.  He’s got it under control so why waste my time questioning what I think is right?  I’m flawed and God is not so basically…God’s opinion wins out every time.  I may not understand why and I can’t expect to because I’m a human being.

  27. Well, his delivery wasn’t the greatest.  But the point of the Gospel is that knowing God through Jesus (and that’s what make’s heaven appealing) can’t come through being good.  That would make it something you’ve done and not a gift that Jesus has done for you.  I don’t think he was trying to make you mad, but to show that being good isn’t enough.  “For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith — and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God — not by works, so that no one can boast.” Ephesians 2:5&6  AAANNNNDDDD your tags made me chuckle!  It’s not as difficult to get there as you think… Not a rule, but a gift.

  28. That’s ridiculous. The logic your friend uses is absurd…I’m pretty sure if there is a god, he would look at where each person’s heart has been through their entire existence before deciding who can get into life’s after party. So much of the rhetoric used in Christianity as practiced here is to instill fear so that we follow some leader chosen by the minority into battle of sorts (political, mental, physical or otherwise)…and the people reinforcing it are too stupid to realize they’re just pawns for someone else’s gain. What’s your friends definition of SAVED anyway? 

  29. If Hitler is in Heaven, I will flatly refuse to go there. Some crimes have no hope of redemption. You can say you are sorry for hurting somebody’s feelings. You can’t say you are sorry for systematically murdering millions of people. I hope he is rotting in Hell.

  30. If he was genuinely remorseful and repented  then I think they’d  have to let him in. But this is the sort of thing that suggests the whole construct is flawed.

  31. well i think this an awesome contraversy cause i think ur friend has no common sense or slight idea of religion. god forgives no matter what u do when u live a prosperous life either way ur goin right well just cause before ur time to pass and uve done bad doesnt mean it makes u better for repenting

  32. No it doesn’t seem right….because it isn’t right. Then again, nowhere does it say that heaven and hell exists. I don’t believe they do, because maybe there is another adventure brewing after we have passed from this life. ^_^ Just my early morning thoughts.

  33. Of course it doesn’t seem right to us. But if Hitler (or some other heinous bugger) truly repented, begged forgiveness and asked Jesus to save him and Christ turned his back on him then I’d say Christianity isn’t what we’ve been preaching all these years.

  34. What that guy said to you is utter bullshit and it’s crap that bornagains throw at people all the time. You know what? They can go fuck themselves with their sanctimonious bullshit and constant misinterpretations.

  35. What doesn’t seem right is this guy thinking HE has the ability to somehow discern whether your belief is enough to “save” you or if you have to do something else to meet HIS criteria. Only God gets to decide; not a single person on this Earth can tell you for sure who’s in and who’s out. Your “friend” reminds me of a bumper sticker that is supposedly a quote from Ghandi. It says “I do not like your Christians. They are so unlike your Christ.”

  36. Wow, to be honest, when it comes down to someone actually trying to tell me that I’m headed to Hell and that I’m not saved, I have to start asking questions. Question #1 — “How do you know I’m not saved?” Then, Question #2 would be: “How do I even know you’re really saved? I know as much about what goes on in your head as you do mine.” From that point forward, it’s safe to say my sentiment would boil down to, “Thank you for your concern, and you’ve met your obligation by informing me of your feelings, but if you don’t believe what I’m telling you, you need to question what boundaries you’re crossing.”lol, but that’s just how I look at it.

Leave a Reply

